Call for Nominations: 2020 APSA Democracy and Autocracy Section Awards

The Democracy and Autocracy Section of the American Political Science Association will present five awards for scholarly work at the 2020 APSA annual meeting: the Juan Linz Prize for Best Dissertation, and the Best Book, Best Article, Best Field Work, and Best Paper awards. Members are strongly encouraged to submit nominations (self-nominations are allowed for some of the awards; see below) to the appropriate committees listed below. Please forward this information to colleagues and graduate students. Please note the eligibility criteria, deadlines for submissions, and materials that must accompany nominations. Please direct questions to the committee chairs.

1. Juan Linz Prize for Best Dissertation in the Comparative Study of Democracy

Given for the best dissertation on democratization and/or the development and dynamics of democracy and authoritarianism completed and accepted in the two calendar years immediately prior to the 2020 APSA Annual Meeting (i.e., 2018 or 2019). The prize can be awarded to analyses of individual country cases as long as they are clearly cast in a comparative perspective. An emailed copy of the dissertation, accompanied by a letter of support from a member of the dissertation committee, should be sent to each member of the prize selection committee by **March 15, 2020**.

Committee members:

- Chair: Nikhar Gaikwad, Columbia (nikhar.gaikwad@columbia.edu)
- Kate Baldwin, Yale (katharine.baldwin@yale.edu)
- James Hollyer, Minnesota (jhollyer@umn.edu)

2. Best Article Award

Single-authored or co-authored articles focusing on democratization and/or the development and dynamics of democracy and authoritarianism, published in print in 2019 are eligible. Nominations and self-nominations are encouraged. Copies of the article should be sent by email to each of the committee members by **March 15, 2020**.

Committee members:

- Chair: Alberto Simpser, ITAM (alberto.simpser@itam.mx)
- Aditya Dasgupta, UC Merced (adasgupta3@ucmerced.edu)
- Jan Pierskalla, Ohio State University (pierskalla.4@osu.edu)

3. Best Book Award

Given for the best book focusing on democratization and/or the development and dynamics of democracy and authoritarianism, published in print in 2019. Copies of the nominated book should be sent to each committee member by mail by **March 15, 2020**.

Committee members:

- Chair: Deborah Yashar, Princeton (dyashar@princeton.edu)
- Tom Pepinsky, Cornell (pepinsky@cornell.edu)
- Sanjay Ruparelia, Ryerson University (ruparelia@ryerson.ca)

4. Best Field Work Award

This prize rewards dissertation students who conduct innovative and difficult fieldwork on the topics of democratization and/or the development and dynamics of democracy and authoritarianism. Scholars who are currently writing their dissertations or who completed their dissertations in 2019 are eligible. Candidates must submit two chapters of their dissertation and a letter of nomination from the chair of their dissertation committee describing the field work. The material submitted must describe the field work in detail and should provide one or two key insights from the evidence collected in the field. The chapters should be sent electronically to each committee member by **March 15, 2020**.

Committee members:

- Chair: Danny Choi, Pittsburgh (dannychoi@pitt.edu)
- Lauren Young, UC Davis (leyou@ucdavis.edu)
- Kikue Hamayotsu, Northern Illinois University (kamayotsu@niu.edu)

5. Best Paper Award

Given to the best paper on democratization and/or the development and dynamics of democracy and authoritarianism presented at the 2019 APSA Convention. Papers can be nominated by panel chairs or discussants. Self-submissions are allowed. Please send electronic copies of the papers to the committee members by **March 15, 2020**.

Committee members:

- Chair: Mariano Sánchez-Talanquer, CIDE, Mexico (m.sancheztalanquer@cide.edu)
- Michael Coppedge, Notre Dame (mcoppedg@nd.edu)
- Eva Bellin, Brandeis (ebellin@brandeis.edu)